The four-year English program is designed to provide students with reading, writing, and oral skills to encourage responsible social interaction, to enhance the learning process, and to generate enthusiasm for the power of language. All students are required to take four years of English: English 9, English 10, English 11, and one of the required senior offerings. These courses are homogeneously grouped by ability and performance. In addition, students are encouraged to select English electives that will broaden their experience and enrich their knowledge of language and literature. The English curriculum emphasizes skills needed for the CAPT, especially for the Response to Literature, Editing/Revising, and Interdisciplinary sections. In order to prepare students for their role in a diverse society, literature encompasses texts from a multitude of cultures. 

 

 English Teacher Websites







 

 

Faculty

Department Head:
Beth Gillin
203-977-4739
BGillin@StamfordCT.gov

 

Teachers:

Laura Broker
LBroker@StamfordCT.gov

Mary Celli
MCelli@StamfordCT.gov

Melissa Correa
MCorrea@StamfordCT.gov

Marie DeAngelis
MDeAngelis@StamfordCT.gov

Lauren Forker
LForker@StamfordCT.gov

Sheena Gordon
SGordon@StamfordCT.gov

Melissa Hadsell
MHadsell@StamfordCT.gov

Jennifer Hempstead
JHempstead@StamfordCT.gov

Ryan Hough
RHough@StamfordCT.gov

Frederick Kelley
FKelley@StamfordCT.gov

Matt Kimmel
MKimmel1@StamfordCT.gov

Robert Lutz
RLutz@StamfordCT.us

Gwen Reed
GReed@StamfordCT.gov

Jonathan Ringel
JRingel@StamfordCT.gov

Rochelle Skaar
RSkaar@StamfordCT.gov

Randy Stone
RStone@StamfordCT.gov

Kristin Veenema
KVeenema@StamfordCT.gov

Katie Wingertzahn
KWingertzahn@StamfordCT.gov